A Journey to a Better Me

Birds have always been interesting to me. I’ve always been intrigued by birds of prey and interested in identifying birds that I saw up close. So, it sounds funny to say that it wasn’t this interest in birds that led me to start bird watching. Rather, it was my feelings of being overwhelmed at work and hints of burn-out that did. Inline image

Not too long ago I had coffee with a friend and talked about life and ministry. As we talked, I shared about I felt I was struggling to keep my head above the water! His response was a seemingly off-topic question: What do you do for yourself?
I sat there and thought about it. To be honest, I didn’t really have an answer besides watching TV or wasting time on my iPad. As you can likely guess, my friend wasn’t too impressed. Spending our off time in front of a screen can feel relaxing because we can just tune out life, but the reality is it doesn’t refresh us. As my friend put it, it feeds our flesh, not our souls. So, my friend challenged me to find something that would give me life rather than leave me mindlessly wasting time in front of a screen (Not that screens are all bad!).
Already having an interest in birds and a challenge to take care of my myself by starting a hobby, I thought birding would be fun. Even more fun would be doing it with a camera so I could better identify birds! And so, my new hobby begins with the goal of becoming a more whole person, one bird at a time.
One thought on “A Journey to a Better Me

Leave a Reply

