My Camera

Many nature and bird photography experts would say you have to use a DSLR. Understandably, you can get really good pictures with a DSLR. However, the cost of a DSLR is far more than I was willing to spend. (Aside: I didn’t even buy the camera; it was a gift. Thanks Mom and Dad!)  Since my goal is not to take the world’s best pictures but to explore the world of birds and take pictures so I can identify them, I determined that I would be able to use a point and shoot camera with super zoom instead.
After doing some research and exploring a few websites about birding*, I was able to settle on a camera: Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-H400. Here are some of the specs:

  • 20.1 Mega Pixels
  • 63x Optical Zoom
  • Optical Image Stabilization
  • Burst Shooting
Since, I’m new to this photography thing, that’s about all I understand about the camera. In terms of use, it’s easy to use. It offers a variety of modes – many of which I am exploring with the help of a bird and nature photography book (I’ll review that later). It’s not too heavy and is easy to carry!
All the pictures you’ll see on this site are taken with this camera. While I know that a DSLR can offer some superb settings and options, I am content with my point and shoot!

*This website was particularly helpful: http://birding.com.co/birding-with-a-point-shoot-camera/

Leave a Reply

