Vacation

In my first week of summer vacation I was able to do some good birding! I even accomplished two “out of city” trips (out of the four I have set for my 2016 goal). My first birding trip was kayaking at McCullough Lake. It’s quite difficult to take a picture of a moving bird from a moving kayak! I saw some usual lake birds like Belted Kingfishers, Mute Swans and Great Blue Herons.

DSC00942

My father-in-law saw some loons, but I missed them! I did get lucky enough to spot two Sandhill Cranes. You could tell the water was iron-rich by the brown tinge to their feathers.

DSC00952.JPG

My next trip was to Presqu’ile Provincial Park in Brighton. My father and I hopped in the car and headed over because we heard that Piping Plovers were nesting there for the first time in 100 years! We got to see the parents and all three chicks. It was a very cool experience to see this bird which is considered threatened in Ontario but is making a comeback!

DSC01061DSC01059DSC01051

 

We also spotted a Killdeer, Great Egret, Mute Swans, Common Yellowthroat, Eastern Kingbird and more Great Blue Herons.

DSC01067.JPG

After these two trips, my birding total for 2016 is 75 species! I’m three quarters of the way to my goal. Hopefully I’ll nab a few more this summer before fall migration.

Leave a Reply

